Congratulations to all students who took part in the first round of our Trinity Musician of the Year (TMOTY) competition over the last few weeks. The competition is a highlight of the musical calendar and every Autumn term, our advanced musicians perform in a series of sectional competitions, which mark the first round. External adjudicators are invited to performances from students across the following categories of Woodwind, Strings, Brass, Piano and Singing. 

The Music department has once again been very impressed with the outstanding standard achieved this year. Well done to all students who competed, the results of the sectionals are below. 

The winners of each category, plus one or two wild card entrants, will perform in a recital class next term. After this, three of the best musicians from this round then play a concerto, or part of one, accompanied by the London Mozart Players. We wish everyone the best of luck in the next round. 


  • 1st – Ethan Hocquellet 
  • 2nd – Leo Jemison 
  • 3rd – Brayden Dekas 


  • 1st – Ben Abraham 
  • 2nd – Lucas Wan 
  • 3rd – Gabriel Newlands 


  • 1st – Andrew Ah-Weng (Harp) 
  • 2nd – Georges Wright 
  • 3rd – Oliver Michael 

Highly commended: 

  • Dominic Holland 
  • Tom Shaxson 


  • 1st – Ben Abraham 
  • 2nd – Zain Lam 
  • 3rd – Lucas Wan
  • Chopin Etude Prize: Caden Cheong 


  • 1st – Thushan Peiris 
  • 2nd – Juno Goode 
  • 3rd – Mimi Collins 

Highly commended: 

  • Ethan Thorne  
  • Tom Willmer 
  • Daniel Todd 


Last year’s Trinity Musician of the Year was Dominic Holland, a classical guitarist. As part of his prize – in addition to the cup, accolade and some cash – Dominic joined three other students in Venice, Italy during the October half term. This was, in effect, a professional tour and the students were coached to manage the challenges and opportunities that a career in music would provide. A steady stream of musicians has left Trinity over the past twenty years and embarked on successful careers in music and, of course, many took part in the Trinity Musician of the Year competition. 

Related news

Scroll right to see more stories