Our annual Trinity Musician of the Year competition proved to be an another exceptional evening of music making. This competition has been running since 2004 and it is reckoned that at that time the school boasted fewer than ten grade 8 passes with distinction.

It is a reflection on how competitive all our music competitions are now that there are almost fifty grade 8 passes with distinction among the pupil body. The seven finalists had already overcome fierce competition to reach this stage and seasoned observers were unable to remember a year when the outcome was less clear cut.

The external adjudicator, international singer, cellist and conductor, Simon Wallfisch, took time to provide a detailed appraisal of each performance and had the unenviable task of selecting the winners.

Congratulations to all the finalists for their outstanding performances: Ben Peck (saxophone); Orlando Woscholski (voice); Ayo Onabolu (tuba); Amiri Harewood (piano); Joel Okolo-Hunter (voice) Kieran Crowley (percussion); Alexander Wong (cello). Particular congratulations to Trinity Musician of the Year 2018 Amiri Harewood and to Joel Okolo-Hunter (2ndprize) and Ayo Onabolu (3rd prize).

Related news

Scroll right to see more stories