The Music department has now hosted the five competitions which make up the first round of the annual Trinity Musician of The Year Competition.

Four instrumental competitions for musicians who have already achieved grade 8 and the singing competition for Sixth Form singers took place each evening in the Concert Hall or Recital Hall.

The five sectional winners now progress to the Recital Class next term, along with up to three wild card entries who will be selected very soon.

Many congratulations to all the participants and particularly to the winners:


Adjudicator: Mengyang Pan (Professor, Royal College of Music)

1st: Ming-Ho Cheung

2nd: Zain Lam

3rd: Ed Warner

Highly commended: Nakutalab Debebe



Adjudicator: Matthew Knight (Professor, Royal College of Music and Co-Principal Trombonist, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra)

1st: Patrick Minton

2nd: Freddie Jemison

3rd: Ben Abraham



Adjudicator: Joshua Fisher (Professor, Royal Academy of Music)

1st: Joshua Albuquerque

2nd: Joseph Jenkins

3rd: Jenson Wong

Highly commended: Ethan Thorne



Adjudicator: Peter Sparks (Co-Principal Clarinettist, English National Opera)

1st: Tate Nicol

2nd: Ethan Hocquellet

3rd: Safi Tiotto-Smith

Highly commended: George Edwards


Adjudicator: Annie Gill (International Opera Singer)

1st: Patrick Minton

2nd: David Fitzpatrick

3rd: Joshua Todd

Highly commended: Aman de Silva

"The standard of performance was, as anticipated, outstanding and the task of the external adjudicators was, as ever, very challenging."

Mr Swinson, Director of Music

Related news

Scroll right to see more stories